We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Brighton and Hove Liberal Democrats

Hove Constituency

The official name of the constituency is Hove but various candidates over the years have added . . . and Portslade not wanting the folk of Portslade to feel left out! The current boundaries of the Hove Constituency are: The City of Brighton and Hove wards of Brunswick and Adelaide, Central Hove,
Goldsmid, Hangleton and Knoll, Hove Park, North Portslade, South Portslade, Westbourne and Wish.

But like all other constituencies the boundaries are due to change in 2018. The boundary review is out for consultation but the general drift of the changes is to move all the Brighton constituencies to the East.

So the current proposal means that the constituency loses Hove Park to the new Brighton North Constituency and gains Regency and St. Peter's and North Laine from Brighton Pavilion. These are currently held by Greens and Hove Park (which will be lost) is Conservative if one judges by the party of the existing councillors for those wards. This tilts the constituency slightly in favour of Labour. But the Greens will be fighting hard and this has been the best Constituency in the Brighton area for the LibDems. From this one might conclude that if Labour, Greens and LibDems can agree on a single candidate (this is called a Progressive Alliance see: https://www.bitebackpublishing.com/books/the-alternative ) then that candidate would have an easy win.
The sitting Labour member for Hove, Peter Kyle has turned his face against this. See: http://brightonandhoveindependent.co.uk/no-consensus-progressive-alliance-brighton-hove/. The name of the new constituency will be Brighton Central and Hove.

Until 1997 the Constituency was represented by a Conservative but in 1997 Ivor Caplin took the seat for Labour, in 2010 it reverted to Conservative Mike Weatherly who stood down in 2015 and Peter Kyle won the seat back for Labour with 42.3% of the vote. The best LibDem performance was in 2010 when we gained 22.6% of the vote.

Hove is famous for its gentility but there are many different areas with lower house prices and a more mobile population including the council estates of Mile Oak. The constituency includes the Sussex County Cricket Ground, several of Brighton's best secondary schools including Cardinal Newman and Blatchington Mill and a long stretch of Brighton and Hove's iconic seafront.

Over the years we have had councillors is various parts of the Constituency and it has long been regarded as a fertile area for Liberal Democrats.