We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Brighton and Hove Liberal Democrats

Brighton Pavilion Constituency

The current boundaries of the Brighton Pavilion Constituency are: The City of Brighton and Hove wards of Regency, St. Peters and North Laine, Hanover and Elm Grove, Hollingdean and Stanmer, Patcham, Preston Park, Withdean. But like all other constituencies the boundaries are due to change in 2018.

The constituency was Conservative until 1997 when David Lepper took it for Labour. Nancy Platts stood for Labour in 2010 but was defeated by Caroline Lucas in a close three way fight between Green (31.8% of the vote), Labour (28.9%) and Conservative (23.7%). LibDems came fourth with 13.8%. Caroline Lucas consolidated her hold in 2015 with 41.8% of the votes cast and won even more convincingly in 2017 with over 50%. In 2017 the local LibDem party decided not to oppose Caroline Lucas.

Over the years the LibDems have had councillors is various parts of the Constituency including St. Peters and Preston Park